A Horse is Not a Home

A Year in the Life of an Americorps VISTA on the Crow Creek Reservation in South Dakota

Pierre / Fort Pierre Flooding Update


At The Muze, Audra told me to head near the Holiday Inn in Fort Pierre and look for group of people that were sandbagging around a public building. I helped them out for a few hours, and then headed home as the rain came in. It’s not raining anymore though, and no more rain is expected directly above us until Monday.

Here’s what people are saying: The Oahe Dam is rated for about 110,000 cubic feet of water per second. It rarely, if ever, runs at this capacity. Due to the swelling of the Missouri, it’s cranking at 85,000 and everybody is just hoping it doesn’t break. This island is expected to be under water. If the groundwater rises, then we’d really be in trouble. The river banks are retracted about 20 feet in either direction but the walking path isn’t submerged yet, so that’s a good sign. Here’s a local news story.

For those of you who are worried about me, don’t be. I want to show you two flyers that are hanging in my building right now:

These maps show the projected flooding, and my building is above the yellow line. My apartment is also on the third floor. If nothing else, I’ll have more time to evacuate. It’s an 11 minute walk to the Georgia Morse Middle School.

5 responses to “Pierre / Fort Pierre Flooding Update

  1. Brian May 27, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    jeeeeeeeeeeez. be careful. I’ll call you tomorrow

    • AphelionZ May 27, 2011 at 4:31 pm

      Thanks, Brian. I will. It’s funny – sitting in my apartment and looking out the window it’s like nothing special is happening. They have a curfew alarm here (weird?) that I’m guessing will sound, and then I’ll probably just crate up spooky and head to the shelter.

      I asked Ronda if there was flooding in Fort Thompson, and she said no, that they were too high up to flood there. I had been thinking about relocating down there, and it makes me think I should start seriously considering that.

      • Mom May 27, 2011 at 5:01 pm

        Hi hon,
        Please be careful and keep us posted. Love you!

    • AphelionZ May 27, 2011 at 5:12 pm

      Love you too, Mom. Don’t worry too much about me – I have a cat to save!

  2. Jesse Kochis May 28, 2011 at 5:43 am

    I bet Spooky would just love a flood. Stay safe and try not to let it end up like New Orleans.

Leave a Reply

